Home / Forums / List of Forums / Writers Coffee Shop / Do Y’all Agree with King?

Do Y’all Agree with King?

Home / Forums / List of Forums / Writers Coffee Shop / Do Y’all Agree with King?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

jessicafriday
    Participant

I recently read Stephen King’s On Writing, and among the many things I gathered from the book, one was that you should write several drafts on your own before ever revealing your work to a critique partner. King referred to this as “writing with the door closed.”

I write professionally, but I’m new to fiction. I’m a pretty strict plotter, so all that happens in my first WIP is planned out, though not every scene is written. After offering it up for critique, I found some habits of mine that won’t work in a commercially published piece and I found that info very useful — it seems to me there will be much less rewriting the second time around.

But according to King, my work will suffer for it.

Just wondering what everyone’s experience with/opinions on this are! Is he right? Or is it an individual kinda thang?

xaenyth
    Participant

I agree with King. As with any writing advice, it’ll work for some and not for others, but for me, I found out the hard way that sharing while I was writing was bad for me.

Yes it was helpful in a lot of ways. I found out things about my writing I never would have known if not for the great feedback I was getting.