Home / Forums / List of Forums / Writers Coffee Shop / Free Novel Software

Free Novel Software

Home / Forums / List of Forums / Writers Coffee Shop / Free Novel Software

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

victoria
    Participant

http://www.spacejock.com/yWriter5_Download.html

Hello ladies! 😀 I thought I’d share this.

This is the link to the free novel software. It’s pretty basic and it lets you separate your scenes or chapters, which is nice.

I’ve heard that Scrivener is pretty good. Has anyone tried it?

readletter
    Participant

I’m new to Ladies Who Critique and new to the forum.

I downloaded Scrivener and started using it. I’ve only used it for about 2-3 weeks and I love it. The Windows version is only $40 and if you search you can find a 20% off coupon. I truly, truly love it. I have The Writer’s Cafe, Snowflake and was looking at Power Structure when someone mentioned Scrivener to me. This very reasonably priced program does far more than more expensive software.

Scrivener allows you to separate your scenes, keeps track of word count and targets, allows you to link or import resource documents and far more.

victoria
    Participant

Wow, that sounds like a writer’s dream!
    I’m going to have to try it. Thanks for the info! 😀

tkmarnell
    Participant

I’ve had friends rave about Scrivener as well. But frankly, the guy who owns it is kind of a jerk, so I don’t want to give him my money. I saw a blog post by an author who tried Scrivener and found it difficult to use; I remember she complained that she couldn’t figure out how to change certain settings and the “Help” documentation was no help at all.