Home / Forums / List of Forums / Writers Coffee Shop / Have You Ever Gotten Stuck Recreating the Same Character

Have You Ever Gotten Stuck Recreating the Same Character

Home / Forums / List of Forums / Writers Coffee Shop / Have You Ever Gotten Stuck Recreating the Same Character

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

willisnord
    Participant

Hello fellow lady writers,

I’ve been pretty dedicated about writing for only some 3 years now. I’m trying to stretch my literary muscles through different areas of spec fiction, since i’m not sure exactly where I’ll end up and since I’m just a newb. I’ve found that across genres I keep ending up writing the same man across from my female characters, or if he is the lead. If he’s on a spaceship, or a dragon, or an oil rig, he’s always the same quick-talking, smart but unmotivated, “nice” guy. Sometimes there’s three of them in one story. I keep trying to steer them away but they keep ending up as carbon copies of the same guy. Once he has more than a couple lines, he becomes this one dude. I know this is terrible, lazy writing so, my question(s) is(are).

Has anyone caught themselves doing this sort of thing, repeating a character? How have you stopped yourself?

Willis

Alex Logsdon
    Participant

YES. Witty smart-mouthed girls who are thinking a lot of things but only say the sassy thing to hide their feelings. As I type this, I realize that my current main character, while unique, has roots in this type. Oh dear…

This is something I learned once:

1. If the character is similar to you or someone you know, give them an external trait that is the opposite of that. So change their hair color, give them a huge nose…whatever. The goal is to see them in a different light so that you don’t get bogged down with what you are failiar with. All of a sudden you’ll have fresh new ideas about their personality.