Home / Forums / List of Forums / Science Fiction & Fantasy / Your Critiquing Style and Experience

Your Critiquing Style and Experience

Home / Forums / List of Forums / Science Fiction & Fantasy / Your Critiquing Style and Experience

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author

elizabeth
    Participant

I thought it might be helpful if I started a thread about our various experiences with critiquing and being critiqued.

I’ll go first. 😀

I’ve been writing seriously for almost six years now, though I’ve been writing my entire life. I’ve been critiquing people’s work for the same amount of time.

I’ve critiqued around 15 different manuscripts, some of those by the same author and some not. I pay a lot of attention to the writing, the story, and the characters. I ask the person I am critiquing for what they want from the book and try to help them achieve that. I’ll make suggestions, but I think it’s up to the writer to decide what’s best for the book.

I try to give a balanced critique. I’ve had critiques before where the person just pointed out everything I did wrong, and I was left to assume everything else was fine. I understand that point of view, but I also think it’s helpful for the writer to know what’s working really well, while they are revising the book. It helps the self esteem and it might help them improve other areas of the book.

I also try to explain as best I can why I think something isn’t working. If the writer disagrees with a suggestion I make, I find that an explanation can help them pick something they like better for the book, and still fix the issue.

The only thing I am not very good at is grammar. I can point out when a sentence sounds off, and usually come up with suggestions, but it’s not my strongest point. I am currently working on the “show don’t tell” rule of writing, so I’ve also gotten better at pointing out where a POV might lapse into telling.